Each year, right around May finals I realize that I have just completed another year of college. I never feel like I know enough to be a [freshman/sophomore/junior/senior] because I feel like I just know the basics. But then I think back to what I knew the previous year, and I accept that I have learned a lot.

This year, however, is a little more difficult. If I am supposed to be a senior, in a few days, surely I should know 75% of what I need to work as an engineer? This is one of those situations where the more you learn the more you realize how much you don’t know.

Going forward, I will be getting a Masters in structural engineering, primarily because I don’t feel like I know enough to work, most structural engineering positions require a masters, and I like learning. I imagine, however, that I will have to work for a period of time before I become truly confident in my own skills and knowledge.

