My classmate, Tom, wrote an interesting post about the imposter syndrome many experience at Mines.

Tom recounts how he compared himself to other students in the dorm when people bragged about ACT or AP test scores. Because of this, Tom thought he had to study much more for his first exams at Mines than others. The result of this was that he “didn’t just pass [his] exams; [he] aced them.” By working hard, Tom achieved more than many of our classmates.

Tom closes his essay by saying that in many cases hard work is more beneficial than inherent smarts. I could not agree more. I believe that many times people think intelligence is completely inherent and people are either good at something, bad at something, or somewhere fixed in the middle. Many people I have spoken with overlook that it takes time and effort to become proficient at a task.

It is my belief that anyone can achieve what they set out for if they put in the time and seek help when it is needed. In response to the imposter syndrome, I love what I do at Mines and don’t feel like I am faking it, but I work hard for each and every class. For other students everywhere who feel they do not belong, I urge you to find something you love and put forward the time to take you where you want to go. It is not a competition, and if you love what you do, fake it till you make it or become it. No one will know the difference except for you.

